

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE NEWS RELEASE

REDWOOD CITY, CA - April 23, 2018 - The San Mateo County School Boards Association (SMCSBA) today announced the 2018 recipients of the J. Russell Kent Awards. SMCSBA represents the governing boards of the County's 23 local school districts, the Community College District, and the San Mateo County Office of Education.

Named after former San Mateo County Superintendent of Schools J. Russell Kent, the awards were initiated in 1981 to recognize outstanding and innovative programs throughout the county. Applicants must demonstrate that their programs have clear and intentional goals, promote student success, employ a high degree of creativity, and demonstrate transferability.

This year's 16 honorees include programs that focus on literacy and reading, computer science, equity and access, social-emotional learning, and pathways to college and career. The 2018 Kent Award recipients include:

- o Belmont-Redwood Shores SD Behavioral Education Support Team
- Belmont-Redwood Shores SD Redwood Shores Preschool Buddies Program (Redwood Shores Elementary)
- Cabrillo Unified SD Big Coyote/Little Coyote (Pilarcitos High)
- Cabrillo Unified SD Farallone View Extended Academic Center (Farallone View Elementary)
- Menlo Park City SD Embracing Our Differences Month (Oak Knoll Elementary)
- Pacifica SD After School Enrichment Program (Vallemar Elementary)
- Redwood City SD Grand Canyon Ecology Trek (John F. Kennedy Middle)
 Redwood City SD Literacy Initiative and Family Literacy Initiative (McKinley Institute of Technology)
- o San Bruno Park SD San Bruno Park Student Health Center
- San Mateo County Office of Education & San Mateo County Community College District -Project Change (San Mateo County Court Schools and College of San Mateo)
- San Mateo County Office of Education San Mateo Environmental Learning Collaborative
- San Mateo-Foster City SD Bayside Academy FAB Lab (Bayside Academy)
- San Mateo Union High SD Flex Time (Aragon High)
- San Mateo Union High SD Mental Health Wellness Program
- Sequoia Union High SD College Going East Palo Alto Academy (East Palo Alto Academy)
- Sequoia Union High SD Woodside High School Senior Thesis (Woodside High)

"The Kent Awards continue to be a highlight of the year for districts and school board members throughout the county," said SMCSBA President Marc Friedman (San Mateo Union High SD). "These 16 recipients demonstrate that our San Mateo County educators are continually innovating and improving the education of our county's students."

This year, the San Mateo County Office of Education will be sponsoring the first ever Excellence in Education and Equity Award at the Kent Awards celebration. This special award will recognize a team of educators from among the Kent Award recipients for their collaborative work in closing the achievement and opportunity gaps in San Mateo County.

The event will also honor this year's winner of the annual Emily Garfield Preventive Counseling Award, Judy Romero of Sequoia High School (Sequoia Union High SD). The Emily Garfield Award was established through a grant from Youth Empowering Systems to honor local education pioneer Emily Garfield and recognize outstanding work in the areas of substance-abuse prevention, youth development, and community wellness.

The Kent Awards ceremony will be held on Friday, May 18, at 6 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City, California.

For more information about SMCSBA or the Kent Awards presentation and banquet, please visit smcsba.org.

About the San Mateo County School Boards Association

The San Mateo County School Boards Association represents the 23 local school districts, the Community College District and County Office of Education in San Mateo County, California. SMCSBA supports school districts' governance teams — school board trustees, superintendents and senior administrative staff – through education on critical public education issues and networking opportunities for its members. SMCSBA is a chapter of the California School Boards Association and is involved in developing, communicating and advocating the perspective of California school districts and county offices of education.

For more information or to schedule a press briefing, please contact:

Marc Friedman

President, San Mateo County School Boards Association Trustee, San Mateo Union High School District marcfrd@pacbell.net