2017 Kent Awards Highlight Excellence and Innovation in Schools Across San Mateo County

May 15, 2017

To download a PDF of the press release, click here.

REDWOOD CITY, CA – May 15, 2017 – The San Mateo County School Boards Association (SMCSBA), representing 22 school districts, the San Mateo Community College District, and the San Mateo County Office of Education, today announced the 2017 recipients of the J. Russell Kent Awards.

The awards are given to outstanding and innovative programs throughout the county. Applicants must demonstrate that their programs promote student success, employ a high degree of creativity, and demonstrate transferability. Named after past San Mateo County Superintendent of Schools, J. Russell Kent, SMCSBA initiated the program in the 1980-81 school year.

This year’s honorees include programs that focus on literacy and reading, computer science, environmental sustainability, equity and access, and engagement. The 2017 Kent Award recipients include:

School Site Programs

Sandpiper Robotics
Sandpiper School
Belmont-Redwood Shores School District

You Fair
Burlingame Intermediate School
Burlingame School District

Coyote Society
Pilarcitos High School
Cabrillo Unified School District

Hatch Student Leadership Club
Alvin S. Hatch Elementary School
Cabrillo Unified School District

Student Leadership/Community Outreach Program
Fernando Rivera Intermediate School
Jefferson Elementary School District

Restorative Practices and Restorative Justice
Hillview Middle School
Menlo Park City School District

Selby Lane Two-Way Spanish Immersion Enrichment Program
Selby Lane Elementary School
Redwood City School District

K-3 Foundational Skills Practices
Garfield Elementary School
Redwood City School District

Heather Elementary School, Special Education Preschool
San Carlos School District

Portfolio and Senior Mastery Defense
Hillsdale High School
San Mateo Union High School District

Panther Reading Program
San Mateo Park Elementary School
San Mateo-Foster City School District

Articulation and Transition
Menlo-Atherton High School
Sequoia Union High School District

Dream Club
Sequoia High School
Sequoia Union High School District

Writing in the End Zone
College of San Mateo
San Mateo County Community College District

Computer Science Week
Buri Buri Elementary School
South San Francisco Unified School District

Gardening For Tomorrow
Skyline Elementary School
South San Francisco Unified School District

Middle School Social and Emotional Learning
Woodside School – Middle School Program
Woodside Elementary School District

Districtwide Programs

Family Engagement – Creating a Bridge Between Home and School
San Mateo Union High School District

Teacher Leadership for Instruction Development
Belmont-Redwood Shores School District

Transitional Resources for Adult Community Education (TRACE) Program
Sequoia Union High School District

“Each year, it is our great honor to learn about the innovative programs happening in schools throughout San Mateo County,” said SMCSBA President Carrie Du Bois (Sequoia Union HSD). “The Kent Awards is just one small way to celebrate outstanding educators and share best practices throughout the county.”

The event will also honor this year’s winner of the annual Emily Garfield Preventive Counseling Award, Shelley Bustamante of Carlmont High School (Sequoia Union High School District). The Emily Garfield Award was established through a grant from Youth Empowering Systems to honor local education pioneer Emily Garfield to focus on successful alcohol and drug prevention programs as well as positive youth development and community wellness programs.

The Kent Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, May 22, at 6 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City, California.

For more information about SMCSBA or the Kent Awards presentation and banquet please visit

About the San Mateo County School Boards Association

The San Mateo County School Boards Association represents the 22 school districts, the Community College District and County Office of Education in San Mateo County, California. SMCSBA supports the governance team — school board trustees, superintendents and senior administrative staff –through education on critical public education issues and networking opportunities for its members. SMCSBA is a chapter of the California School Boards Association and is involved in developing, communicating and advocating the perspective of California school districts and county offices of education.

For more information or to schedule a press briefing, please contact:
Carrie Du Bois
President, San Mateo County School Boards Association
Board President, Sequoia Union High School District

# # #

Upcoming Events

  1. March 9, 2020 SMCSBA General Membership Dinner Meeting

    March 9 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
  2. SMCSBA Equity Network – Session #5

    April 20 @ 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
  3. 2020 Russell J. Kent Awards

    May 8 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Latest News

Stay in the Know! Subscribe to our newsletter.